King's Police and Fire Service Medal

One of the older awards, instituted in 1909 by King Edward VII but discontinued in 1954 when separate medals for police and for fire service were substituted.

kings medal front and back

Originally titled the King's Police Medal even though it could be awarded for fire service. Given to police or fire personnel who perform 'acts of exceptional courage and skill or who had exhibited conspicuous devotion to duty'.

In 1933 steps were taken to better identify whether the medal had been given for gallantry or performance of duties with appropriate inscriptions added to the reverse of the medallion and a thin red line added to the centre of the medal ribbon when awarded for gallantry.

Recipients of the medal are entitled to use the post-nominal KPFSM, the name adopted from 1940.

The ribbon was originally dark blue with silver edges, but was altered in 1916 to add a central silver stripe. As noted, a thin red central stripe distinguished the award for gallantry. Between 1909 and 1954 when the last award was made to an Australian, 209 Australians were recipients, including 70 for gallantry. Replaced by the Queen's Police Medal and the Queen's Fire Service Medal. Later still replaced in Australian honours with the Australian Police Medal and the Australian Fire Service Medal.


Date granted First name Surname Position Location
1/1/1942 William Martin Chellew   Pre CFA - Vic Country Fire Brigades
1/1/1946 Alexander McPherson C.O. Country Fire Authority



Page last updated:  Thursday, 28 December 2023 11:52:05 AM