Title Tile

Our Board

Web Content Tile

The Board of Authority is constituted under the Country Fire Authority Act 1958. It is responsible for CFA's overall performance and compliance with legislation and governance.

The Board is accountable to the Minister for Emergency Services.

The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) is appointed by the Board and is responsible for implementing policies and general business administration.

View communique updates from the CFA Board >>

Table Tile

Chair Greg Smith AM

Mr Smith is the principal of G R Smith and Associates, with decades of experience in industrial arbitration and conciliation. Mr Smith was a Commissioner for the Fair Work Commission and its predecessors for almost three decades, under successive Federal Governments, and was made Deputy President in 2012. He has worked extensively for international organisations, including the United Nations, and was an advisor to the South African Commission for Conciliation, Mediation and Arbitration. He is currently a board member of Ambulance Victoria and Life Education Victoria.
Deputy Chair Michelle McLean

Ms McLean is the CEO and Partner of Cornwall Stodart Lawyers and an expert in finance, governance and people management. She is on the executive council of the Victorian Chamber of Commerce and is a member of the Royal Agricultural Society. Ms McLean has previously been a board member of the Mercy Health Foundation, and is a former President of the Australian Legal Practice Management Association.
Dr Gillian Sparkes Dr Sparkes is the Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability in Victoria, a role she has held since July 2014. Dr Sparkes is an expert in environmental management, governance, public sector management and stakeholder engagement. She has held senior operational roles in the private sector with BHP and Brambles, and executive roles in the public sector with the Department of Sustainability and Environment and WorkSafe Victoria. Dr Sparkes is an experienced company director having previously served on the board of South Gippsland Water and as Chair of Sustainability Victoria.
Ms Pam White

Ms White is the Chairperson of the Victorian Registration and Qualifications Authority, and has extensive public service experience. She is a former CEO of the State Services Authority, and served as the State Recovery Coordinator in the Department of Human Services. Ms White was appointed as an adviser to the Victorian Flood Review by the previous Coalition Government and also served as CEO to the Victorian Reconstruction and Recovery Authority after the Black Saturday bushfires.
Simon Weir

Mr Weir is a barrister with more than thirty years’ experience in personal injury and insurance litigation. He has worked as a Partner of Slater and Gordon and was a Senior Legal Counsel for the Victorian Workcover Authority. Mr Weir has consulted for Wisewould Mahony and was a senior associate for Hall and Wilcox.
Timothy Young Mr Young has been a member of CFA since 1980, is Brigade Secretary and Treasurer at Little River Fire Brigade and brings with him an extensive background in law.
Lynda Hamilton Ms Hamilton has been a CFA member since 2011, has held brigade management roles, and has a strong background in managment consulting and change management.
Peter Shaw Mr Shaw is a Deputy Group Officer at Knox Fire Brigades Group and a volunteer firefighter since 1974. He has a long history in police and emergency services.
Hazel Clothier Ms Clothier has been a CFA member since 2008, is currently captain at Warburton Fire Brigade and has a background in biomedical science and epidemiology.

Web Content Tile

Board Communique

Board communique updates provide all staff and volunteers and the broader community with an update on the work of the Board.

Freedom of Information

As a statutory authority, CFA complies with Freedom of Information requirements. Download CFA's Freedom of Information Policy (PDF 45k)

Advanced Content Tile