Freedom of Information Statement 2: Categories of documents
Share | Print

Freedom of Information Statement 2: Categories of documents

The CFA creates a large number of documents and records in the course of its work. The CFA uses an Electronic Document & Records Management System to classify, store, access and manage a broad range of electronic and hard copy documents.

Document types

The types of documents that the CFA handles include:

  • policy, procedures and standards
  • briefings and reports
  • maps
  • publications
  • correspondence  
  • meeting records
  • financial records
  • audio visual material

Document categories

These documents are organised under the following categories according to the CFA’s Business Classification Scheme.

Documents, forms, Manuals

Warnings & Restrictions

Management & Administration

Plan & Prepare for a fire


Volunteers & Careers

Fires & Emergencies

News & Media


Kids & Schools

Health & Welfare


The CFA’s website outlines the areas of work that the CFA undertakes and in which areas documents would be created.

Please note, the resource locations and content presented within the overall Part II Statement provides only a snapshot of the information that is available and is by no means an exhaustive representation.

If searching for a specific topic, more thorough results may be obtained by conducting a full search of this site or by contacting the relevant business unit directly.

Other sections of the Part II Statement

More information about Freedom of Information (FOI) can be found on the dedicated FOI website.


Freedom of Information
GPO Box 701
Mt Waverley VIC 3149
Tel: 03 9262 8512

Thanks for your feedback. If you have any ideas on how we can improve, we'd love to hear them.

Please provide your comments in the Contact CFA Headquarters feedback form.

Back to top